top of page

Serving with Dignity is a seven-lesson course taught by trained facilitators. It is typically used in church and community contexts in which people want to move beyond meeting immediate needs to lasting change and transformation. (Read about the history of the course.)

Serving with Dignity is an asset-based approach to service that is different from the traditional needs based approach. Needs are still met in the asset-based paradigm but the one experiencing the need plays a more active role in addressing that need and the nature of the relationship changes from one that is more dependent to one that is more interdependent and dignified. 

Each of the seven lessons focuses on a gift from God (a resource, or asset) that can be leveraged to serve others more effectively. The lessons are also grounded in the Bible and social research which inform core principles that can be used in a variety of contexts.

Foundational texts for the curriculum are the parable of the Good Samaritan and Paul's letter to the Philippians. Follow the links below to read more about each of the lessons or subscribe to the blog to learn more about how to put the principles from Serving with Dignity into practice in your context.

  1. Mercy

  2. Dignity

  3. Assets

  4. Presence

  5. Grace

  6. Hope

  7. Love

bottom of page